Saturday, February 12, 2011

Attorney General's Office (OCL) Preventing Child-Clients Access to Case Files

From:    John Dunn (johndunn@afterfostercare.ca)
 

Sent:    February 12, 2011 6:36:02 AM
 

To:     helenkmiller@rogers.com; lucy.mcsweeney@ontario.ca; christopher.bentley@ontario.ca
 

Cc:     robin.trott@ontario.ca; mark.leach@ontario.ca; leslie.fenton@ontario.ca; Andre Marin (amarin@ombudsman.on.ca); chris.cheung@ontario.ca; nauman.khan@ontario.ca
 

TO:

Hellen Miller, Children's Lawyer AND Lucy McSweeney, Children's Lawyer for Ontario
14th Flr
393 University Ave
Toronto ON M5G1W9

CC:
Robin Trott, Manager Professional Services
Mark Leach, Assistant Deputy Attorney General
Leslie Fenton, Manager, Corporate Policy
Andre Marin, Ontario Ombudsman
Chris Cheung, Senior Policy Advisor
Nauman Khan, Senior Advisor, Communications
Hon. Christopher Bentley, Attorney General


Saturday, February 12, 2011



Hellen Miller,


In an e-mail to the mother of your client, (name removed) you stated that you would not let your child-client see his court files.


In a subsequent e-mail, you then stated that "there is no specific age for children to be able to review their files" and then, after stating that there is no particular age for children to review their file, you went on to say that "it would not be earlier than 16 years of age" that they can review their files.


These two statements are contradictory of each other and confusing to the public.


Can you and Lucy McSweeney please clarify what the law says and/or what the Ministry of the Attorney General's policies are pertaining to child-clients represented by the Office of the Children's Lawyer getting access to review their own case files and at what age they have to be to do so. Especially if they are requesting to see them.


Sincerely




John Dunn
Executive Director
The Foster Care Council of Canada
http://www.afterfostercare.ca

No comments:

Post a Comment