Monday, November 30, 2009

Ottawa CAS modifies By-Laws

In a letter to Barbara MacKinnon, the executive director of the Children's Aid Society of Ottawa, John Dunn requests answers in relation to the Society's recent move to no longer require membership fees with the Society.



From: John Dunn (johndunn@afterfostercare.ca)

Sent: November 30, 2009 6:09:24 AM

To: Barbara Mackinnon (barbara.mackinnon@casott.on.ca)

Cc: MinEasternRegion Judith Dunne (judith.dunne@ontario.ca); Irwin Elman (irwin.elman@provincialadvocate.on.ca); Horwath - QP, Andrea (ahorwath-qp@ndp.on.ca); MPP Sylvia Jones PCChildWelfareCritic (sylvia.jonesqp@pc.ola.org); CAS Ott Christian Hackbusch Anti-Oppression (christian.hackbusch@casott.on.ca); Gerard Frenette (MCYS) (gerard.frenette@ontario.ca); Chris Shantz (chris.shantz@ontario.ca)

Barbara MacKinnon
Children's Aid Society of Ottawa
1602 Telesat Court
Ottawa, Ontario
K1B 1B1

Barbara MacKinnon,

As you are aware, I recently requested a new membership application from the Children's Aid Society of Ottawa. I received the application in the mail with thanks, and have subsequently filled it out and have mailed a copy to the Society.

However, upon reading the application itself, it states that for the year 2009-2010, there are no longer requirements for applicants to pay an annual membership fee. In order for this change to the Society's membership fees to become in force, the Society's By-Laws would have to be amended.

Can you please respond with answers to the following questions.

1. When were these 2009-2010 application forms created

2. At what meeting were the Societies By-Laws amended

3. Have the newly modified Society By-Laws been filed with the Ministry as required by subsection 13 (1) of the Child and Family Services Act which reads as follows:

"Approved agency

13.(1) An approved agency shall file a certified copy of its by-laws and of any amendment to them with the Minister forthwith after they are made."


Sincerely
John Dunn
Executive Director
The Foster Care Council of Canada
613-220-1039
http://www.afterfostercare.ca

Foster Care News Blog
http://www.fostercarenews.blogspot.com

Also read about the Ride for Accountability in 2010
http://afterfostercare.wetpaint.com/page/RACAS

No comments:

Post a Comment